NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

I need to know

Jkings

Hello everyone, I am Jkings. I grew up having an African gray in our family but was never into breeding. But decided to start breeding, my African gray has a baby and I wanted to ask couple of questions because this is my first time. Question 1. Can I clean the house and put a softer material for the baby, will the mother continue taking care of it. Question 2. Can I do the DNA of the baby with the eggshell

• Like 1
  • Sad 1

Breeding is a difficult thing to do with parrots. I suggest you look thru the files here and research all the information you can, I myself I don’t care for breeders of any sort, I believe in rescue, but if you become a breeder knowledge and experience is key. Otherwise don’t attempt it. Just my opinion. 

• Like 2

How do I assess the files?. I am new to the forum.

I know breeding is difficult, just owning and loving an African Grey is also difficult but I am hoping that they are people in this forum who are int to breeding  and will be will to walk me through this with their experience.

• Like 1

For me, the issue with breeding, is that there are already too many unwanted parrots.  I don't see the need to breed more until every already-living parrot has a *good* home.  The sheer number of re-homed parrots makes me cry.  Most people don't know what they're getting into with a parrot, so many parrots get re-homed many times during their life.  My own grey was also an unwanted re-homed parrot.  I've had him 23 years.  Can't really imagine deliberately breeding more domestic parrots.  Just me, I guess.  :( I BEG people, give a new home to a domestically bred parrot, don't just adopt chicks -- home the ones already bred -- they didn't ask for this life, yannoe.  :(

• Like 2

• 3 weeks later...

Welcome to the forums!