NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

For a beginner?

I'm curious, what are the pros and cons of the different Amazon species over each other? If say, I was to get an Amazon, baby or older rehome, what is a good choice? I'm not a beginner to parrots by any means, but am just now starting to look into Amazons.

What do I want in an Amazon? Well, I know each parrot has their own personality. I'm up for a challenge, but am hoping for a mild tempered amazon, playful and outgoing, and also for some good talking ability :P

My Yoshi has the cuddling and the quiet nature, more reserved than outgoing, also headstrong lol. I guess I'm looking for a fun Amazon with more interest in toys :P

Yoshi will ALWAYS be my number one, she's my baby :) Also, I'm getting ahead of myself, as I probably won't be getting an Amazon this year, probably not until we move to our next assignment (military). I just would like an idea of what to get when the time comes :P

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Red lored or Orange winged might be two good Amazon options to research. Both of these tend to be a little more "friendly" in my opinion. ... but that is from my own personal experience and I am in no way an expert.

The Red Lored are beautiful :) I love the colors...

The Red Lored are beautiful :) I love the colors...

Not overly large and tend to be mild mannered too (There are exceptions to the rule lol). Not known for exceptional speech but can and do talk. Quite playful too.

Edited by Loki'sMinion

In this room, we've covered 99% of the Amazon Species. For you, I'm going to compile a summary of Amazon desirability form both personal experiences and research. :confused:

Your friend Jayd

Look for this later today!!!;)

Lets make this a STICKY!

Edited by Jayd