NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

New member...soon to be a Grey daddy

davek85

Hello all,

I just wanted to introduce myself. I do not currently have any birds of any sort at home. I had a budgie as a boy. It was just a cage dweller. I was too young to know how to tame him. I then got a Nanday Conure in 1985 after I graduated college. "Starbuck" was a wild capture bird but I had him tamed in three days. He was a good bird but a little obnoxious. I only had him for about two years before I had give him away because in the Navy and I was gone too much. I got a pair of love birds after I got out of the navy. I was never able to tame them (I think I was too busy being a husband and father). They did bred, however, and I ended up having 7 of them. I sold the lovebirds back to a pet shop.

Now that my kids pretty much grown up and are starting to leave the house (one in college now, one a senior in high school, and one in 8th grade). I have more time on my hands. My wife and kids surprised me this Christmas with a cage and "permission" to get a CAG. I was a pleasant surprise! I am now actively looking for a CAG and hope to have one this February.

We also have three Boston Terriers (Roscoe (12), Roxanne (10), and Peanut (1.5)).<br><br>Post edited by: davek85, at: 2008/12/31 17:20

What a wonderful Xmas present, and your family so supportive of what you would like to have.

There are great people and lots of information here, and if you dont see it you can always just ask.

Welcome again, and you have the battle half won, you have your cage :)

Look forward to hearing more.

Carolyn & Mika

Welcome DaveK!!

Wow, your family sure knows how to treat a Dad!! Congratulations on getting the cage and go ahead to fill it with an African Grey. You've come to the right place to research and also receive answers from experienced bird owners to help you as needed.