NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Goodbye, Jack, my love

Muse

As some here may know, Jack was a mitred conure. He came here with obvious issues. He walked with an extreme limp, he was blind in one eye, and his posture was contorted. On his first vet visit, Dr. Leonatti explained that his problems were the result of violent injury. Someone had hit him or thrown him against something hard enough to rupture his eye and shatter his leg. There were probably more long-healed injuries we were unable to see that affected his posture. Despite all this abuse and likely being in pain, Jack was the sweetest bird. He was almost completely blind.

Jack.jpg

His ruptured eye had become infected back in August. We had him treated, and at that time Dr. Johnson explained that the eye was like a chronic wound - it was never going to "heal" and mentioned the possibility of removing the ruptured 'sac' that was formerly his right eyeball. Being a nurse, I knew this could mean chronic infections, and infections very close to and connected to the brain. The eye showed signs of discharge about two months ago and I treated it by lavage with sterile normal saline. It seemed to improve, but a few days ago, it appeared "gunky" (purulent). We decided to go forth with the surgery in hopes of stopping these infections. His surgery was scheduled for 9AM yesterday (12/30/2014).

Unfortunately, Jack's heart wasn't up to the surgery. Just as they were bringing him out of anesthesia, his heart stopped.

I am devastated. As hard as I try to be the "good mom" here and not play favorites, Jack was different. He was my "shoulder bird" - something I'd not had since Mar died. We bonded hard and I am once again left with a huge gaping hole in my heart.

Goodbye my dear boy. At least now you can fly and see again, and you will never be in pain again.