NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

A note on rewards

snoepgoed123

let me start off by saying, I've only had Archimedes for a few weeks, but he isn't my first bird, I'm still learning about him every day, and I will probably continue to learn from him for the next few decades. I do however go to school to learn to become a teacher, and essentially, train young minds.

A few weeks ago we had a discussion in class that I could relate, not only to my future career, but my relationship with Archimedes. In the classroom (especially at younger ages) it's important for children to be motivated to learn. In order for these young minds to be motivated, they often times need to see a reward for a job well done. That sounds familiar, doesn't it, just like our greys will suddenly spin in circles when they see the grapes or whatever their motivation is. Anyways, there are two basic types of rewards, the first reward is extrinsic. It's the smiley face sticker on the ditto, the star chart, the treasure box, and for greys, it's that grape, that piece of nut, or seed. It's a great way of getting a grey to do something, because he can see the outcome... "if I can do this weird movement, somehow I'll get that nut" however, when there is no nut... the outcome might only be 50% accurate "pshh, I don't see a nut, why do I have to do that movement?"

which brings me to the second type of motivation. Intrinsic. This is a harder one to teach your grey (yes you have to teach them to be rewarded intrinsically.) Basically, while extrinsic motivation there is an outside reward for a positive behavior. The intrinsic reward is being internally motivated to do something. An example is your grey is in the other room and decides to fly over to you, he is motivated to be part of the flock, and once he's there he is happy that he did it. You didn't hold a nut to make him come to you, however boy does he feel rewarded when he's there.