NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Hey Newbie Here (:

Hiya my names Coral im 17 from england, On thursday we bought our African Grey her names Georgia shes a year and 5 months old she can say quite a few words shes not very tamed even though she came on mine and my boyfriends hand like out of know where, but then after that she tends to bite, well im so glad ive came across this forum to be honest, looks so helpful and were going through a few problems, which ill post here,

and ive also uploaded some photos of Georgia!

P011010_12.16.jpg

P011010_14.22.jpg

P011010_12.56.jpg

P011010_12.55.jpg

P011010_14.41.jpg

Welcome Coral and Georgia!!

Bless you for taking in a young grey in need of a loving home. :)

The bite is pretty much the only way a bird has of letting another know they do not wish to do whatever is being requested and is normally more of a pinch or just hard pressure to let you know. You will quickly learn her body language and know before you request something like a step-up or a head scratch whether shes wants to or not. At one and a half years old, they are just starting to express their Independence and come into their own like a human teenager trying to figure out boundary lines.

Also, only having had her a few days, means she is getting used to the new home and people. You will not see her entire personality come out for weeks probably. Greys do not take change very well or new items like toys etc. depending on how well they were socialized and introduced to change and lots of people when they were infants to a year old. Just keep this in mind as you may see some reactions to things with a scream or flying away. :)

I love the photos and appreciate your sharing them. :)

Edited by danmcq

Hello Coral and welcome to our family and congrats on getting Georgia, she is a beauty and thanks for sharing them in your intro post.