NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Newbie Here

NuNu

Hi, I'm NuNu (or Grandma Kathy) and the excited new owner of an adopted Timneh female. Ziggy is about 17 years old and had 2 previous owners. She was originally purchased for breeding, but after awhile she apparently was sick of it all and began attacking the males. The second owner had her for 8 years and it was obvious she was well loved. He had to give her up due to a new job that involves constant travel.

Ziggy is not a talker but vocalizes a lot and imitates sounds like the microwave, ambulances on TV, sneezing, etc. She wolf whistles when someone passes through the room.

I've only had her 3 days and she asks to come onto my shoulder. She loves when I take her for a tour of the house and tell her what everything is. She totally ignores the presence of our dog (will even let the dog sit on my lap while she is on my shoulder) but abhors the cat and screams if he comes in sight. (I do keep him away from her).

She finds my grandson very interesting and likes when he plays his iPod music and dances for her. Eventually she starts dancing too. She likes to accept snacks from my granddaughter, and is calm around my daughter and son-in-law.

This is long, but she is so interesting. I think I got lucky and have a very secure calm bird.

Looking foward to learning a lot from all of you!

Congradulations on your new family member and good for you to take on an older bird that needed a home. I look forward to hearing all about Ziggy and the fun she will bring to your family. I would love to see some pictures when you get a chance also

Hi Kathy and welcome to the forum! That is so nice of you to rehome an older grey. Ziggy sounds like a sweetheart. You are so lucky she adjusted to you so quickly, some people aren't that lucky. If you have any pictures of Ziggy we would love to see her. Enjoy the forum, it is a very helpful place. :)