NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Potential baby grey!

cf737

Hello everyone!

It's very nice to meet you all! I'm really excited to have found this forum.

I am thinking about getting an African Grey and have lots of questions. I am currently a student - however I have a ton of experience with pets. I have a little parrotlet, Sprite, whom I absolutely adore. I'm looking for something bigger and a little calmer than a Macaw or otherwise.

I am planning on taking this next year off from school and with that, think it would be a perfect time to get a little bird to bond with. I'll have plenty of time to be at home and look after him/her.

However, I need to think about more of a long term commitment. I was wondering if Greys can bond with two or three people. While I'm in class during the day, my mother would be at home to keep the Grey happy. After spending most of his time with me, would a Grey be comfortable in this situation?

Any advice or opinions would be greatly appreciated! This is a very serious decision and I want to be as in-the-know as possible.

Thanks again!:)

Hello Cf737 and welcome to the family, so glad you found us and we look forward to hearing more about you and your quest to own a grey.

Yes this will be a lifetime committment as a grey can live for 50+ years and you need to be absolutely sure this is what you want before you go out there and purchase it. You are doing the right thing in asking questions and getting as much info so you can make an informed decision.

Greys are known for bonding with just one person but there are a lot of members who have greys that get along with many family members. The relationships with multiple people may be different for each one but if you and your mom take an active role in the every day life and caring for your grey then of course it can work out nicely.