NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

new cage she is scared

fancynancy22

Hello:

My name is Nancy and I am new to this. We have five dogs, four parakeets and an African Grey named Ralph. Ralph is a she. We just got Ralph a new cage. She used to be in a 24x24 cage it was older thinner bars. We just spent the money and got a King's cage that is 31x24 and it is taller. Ralph is freaked out. The bars are a little thicker and she is scared right now to move around. I went out and got a bunch of perches to make it easier for her to get from place to place but she still seems scared. The owner of the bird store I go to said it can take three months for her to get used to it. She is not eating and I am concerned. Since this cage is much roomier I bought more perches. The lady in the bird store said they shouldn't have more than two. I had to put more in because she wouldn't move. This is my boyfriend's mother's bird but I help take care of her. I can only do so much because she is not my bird and I don't want to overstep my bouds but any suggestions would be so great. I have a swing in the cage, Plus I put her two old perches in ther which are really chewed up but she loves them. I also have two of those twisty ones made out of that thick rope near her dishes and one of the sand paper perches by her food dish to help with her nails. I also have a couple of those smaller tree branch one that you attached with the washers. So everyone right me back and let me know what to do.