NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Advice - A new baby or adopt an adult?

kukushka

Hello everyone, I'm totally new to this whole parrot-keeping thing. Kept Budgies and other animals before so I'm experienced in animal keeping but I could really do with some advice. I have been doing a lot of research recently with a view to purchasing an African Grey, but I'm not sure whether I should buy a youngster from a breeder or dealer, or whether I should adopt an older bird from someone else. There are always Greys advertised in my local paper looking for new homes (I assume people didn't realise what they were getting in to!) and I like the idea of giving an unwanted pet a second chance. But will an older bird be completely boded with its current owner and totally hate my guts forever? What are the chances that an older bird will bond with a new owner?

I'd really appreciate you guys' input!

Cheers.

Well there is pro's & con's for both, whatever your decsion you will need, time & commitment to either a baby or an older grey.

An adult parrot in a new home can become very bonded to its new family. On the other hand, an adult bird with social problems may never become affectionate and may never even like its new guardians, but that has less to do with age than it does with how the parrot was raised and treated by its previous humans.

There's no reason why you shouldn't welcome an older bird into your home. Yes, its personality is pretty much formed by the time the bird is well into its adulthood, but if you can accept the bird for who it is as an individual, then you may find a good friend, even if you had nothing to do with its upbringing.