NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Hello!

I am new to grey forums....

I have a 2 1/2 year old Timneh named Hedwig. She has had some issues the last year...she had a feather cyst removed, and often prematurely breaks blood feathers or chews them. I was wondering if anyone else has experienced this, and what they have done to help their bird.

Hello Hedwigsmom and welcome to the family, we are so glad you decided to join us and we look forward to hearing more about you and Hedwig.

I am sorry to hear you are having some issues with her, a feather cyst removed sounds like quite an ordeal and it may have led her to chew blood feathers. I have not experienced this but I am sure with all the members we have her that someone has had that happen and will share that experience with us. It sounds like it was probably something painful to have happen to her.

In any case read thru as many of the threads here for lots of useful and helpful information on a variety of topics. Please do ask questions if you have any and we will do our best to get you some answers and help you in any way we can.

If you have any pictures of Hedwig you would like to share with us we would love to see her.

Hello Kimmie and welcome to the family, we are so pleased you could join us and we look forward to hearing more about you and Bailey.

I know the next 5 weeks will probably be the longest weeks of your life when you are waiting for a new baby to arrive. I know you are excited and rightly so, it is not everyday that someone gets a grey but you are about to embark on a lifetime committment that will be most rewarding.

Do you have any other birds or pets in your household? If you do have any dogs or cats, I am sure you will take the necessary precautions to make sure Bailey is safe around them and supervise the time he is out of his cage.