NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Is this the best option for the bird?

Summertime

I didn't know where to post this, I've never posted here as I'm new to this

Hello, I'm new here but I'm eager to learn!

So, My mum has a friend who has a Congo African Grey Parrot called Tico.  Tico is her husbands bird until he passes. Once her husband passes she will need my help with getting Tico out of his cage and into his travel carrier and take him home with me as my bird. Tico would be my first bird and I want to do the right thing for Tico. She originally asked for my help to bring Tico to the bird rescue I volunteer at sometimes but even though I've never had a bird I feel taking him to the bird rescue wouldn't be in Tico's best interest since most of the exotics  (especially the Macaws, Cockatoos and Amazons and other large birds) get bounced from home then back to the rescue then to home then back to the rescue and so on.

I am currently 21, live with my mum and fiance and I don't go to school but do plan to do school online but I have plenty of time and patience for working with Tico to give him the attention and care he needs.

I am much more comfortable with and do best with larger birds and I have some experience with handling Macaws, Cockatoos and Amazons. 

Ones that have temperament problems and that has a tendency to bite and do things their not supposed to do. 

I've been Biten, I've been lunged at,  I've been grabbed by beaks and nails and more. But after having patience  and time working with each bird that has done that to me has an Amazing reward, having a newly affectionate gentle bird was so worth it.

With what I understand with Tico, he does have a problem with biting and doesn't get out of his cage much because of that and needs more socializing with being touched and brought out and a few other thing.