NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Baby grey and my work schedule advice

Lilwitt22

Hello everyone! Brand new to this forum as well as a African grey! So I purchased a Congo and she will be ready in about a week. I can't help but to worry that I'm not doing something right. I have done months and months of research however there is still one thing I'm nervous about. I am currently a EMT and I work 11 hour shifts.. However, there are in the evenings. Tuesday- Friday 2pm- 1am. Only 4 days. I am concerned about my grey and her mental health. I want to be sure she will be okay while I am away. I have purchased many many toys as well as many foraging toys for her. I live with a roommate who works during the day so she will be by herself for the night once I leave. However, of course, in the mornings we will hang out/ eat together and spend time out of her cage. Also I am concerned that once I start school in about a month, she will struggle even more. I have one class on Mondays and Wednesday's from 8am- noon. Then on Saturday from 8am to 4pm. So once school starts, my work/school schedule is as follows:

Monday: 8am- noon

Tuesday: 2pm- 1am

Wednesday: 8am- noon, 2pm- 1am

Thursday:2pm- 1am

Friday : 2pm- 1am

Saturday:8am- 4pm

Sunday: free :)

I know greys require 12hrs of sleep as well. Would she be okay going to sleep without me being there? She could sleep while I'm at work right? Her cage is located in my room and I've heard that radio/ tv is okay for them. Any tips/ suggestions is greatly appreciated! I've attached a picture of Lola!

image.jpg