NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Is My perry starting to talk?

Hello All!, I am new to this post. I have a male CAG named Perry,14 months old, very smart has learned 20 advanced tricks-basketball,skateboarding,colored rings on pegs etc-etc.... He whistles anything he hears in a day and I have been trying for a year to get him to talk, I know they normally don't start till around one years. He says Hello and Stop it! occasionally, but in a gravelly-robotic voice,sometimes aliitle clear. Is he starting to learn to talk,will he get clearer,any tips. Thanks, Brent and Perry

Hi Brent, and what a smarty your Perry is! Some CAGs/TAGs are big talkers and some are more of the whistler mumbler persuasion. Do you talk with Perry, i.e. conversations or are you using the same trick training methods with regard to talking -- repetition and reward? For some Greys, repeating words over and over is just plain boring and they may be less likely to want to hop on the speech train even with rewards -- like trick training. If you are using meaningful language and continue to do so with Perry, for example: answer him back when he makes any noise (other than screeching and screaming) he may surprise you eventually with how much language he actually has stored up to now. Keep one ear open as Perry whistles and mumbles, and respond with something that makes sense. For example when he says, "Hello," you might reply with, "Hello. What are you doing over there?" or "Hello, I am busy over here _________" <--- insert what you are doing. When he says, "Stop it!" You might reply, "OK. Alright. What do you want?" Anything that makes sense. I found that Inara was more amenable to talking around dinner time. So that was our own jumping off point. You might notice that Perry has a particular time of day when he is more open to chatting, and can use that time to start reinforcing speech.