NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Telling a Date You Own Birds

chezron

Separated for 8 months and soon to be divorced. I worry about introducing new guys to the idea that I have pet parrots. Most people have dogs and cats, but not birds. Has anyone handled this situation? I recently joined an internet dating site and was told by a random guy that the fact that i own parrots is a major turn-off for many guys. I thought, "well too bad" but it is a concern. I know ideally that if Parrotsare an issue I am better off without guys like that. Just curious what others think.

I have no experience in this, I adopted Babalu when I was already married, I did have to beg though lol. I would think they would think it was cool, to be able to see exotic birds, but then again, I love birds! Don't cats turn men off too tough?

Why would the type of pet you have make you less desirable? He's not going out with the parrot, he's going out with a person! And would you really want to date a guy who has that type of mentality? I'm a guy and I don't like cats or dogs, but that doesn't mean I won't date someone if they own cats or dogs.

..was told by a random guy that the fact that i own parrots is a major turn-off for many guys.

Turkey... :P As far as it goes, he may not be entirely wrong. But he's still a turkey!

I thought, "well too bad" but it is a concern. I know ideally that if Parrots are an issue I am better off without guys like that

Got it right in one!! If he can't pass the pet test, he isn't even worth the time it takes to brush your teeth(let alone the rest of the pre-date ritual lol). jmho

Our children & our pets are a fundamental part of who & what we are. How other people deal w/them can say a lot about who & what they are.