NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Hello From Texas

pat617

Hello Everyone!

I am new to owning an Congo African Grey. I have had experiences with conures before. I should say it does not compare to anything that I expected. He is very gentle and tame and does not scream at all. Every once in a while is sort of chirps like if he is trying to imitate words. I am a little worried that I do not hear vocalizations from him (like screaming or squaking). Not even in the morning or evening. He is eating good and does not show signs of illness. He is about 6 1/2 months. He spends quite some time out of his cage perching in my hand. I have owned him for 6 days. I wanted to see if I could get some help answering my questions from some fellow CAG owners. I'm looking forward to being part of this forum!!

thanks,

Welcome to the Grey forums. Where at in Texas? I'm north of Dallas.

CAG's don't screech like a conure, although they can learn to if exposed to it. Mine learned to do morning and evening screechy time because my Caique started her on it. I would say at 5mos your CAG is just figuring things out. Ours is 14mos and she is getting louder with all her new repetoire of whistles, caique screeches etc.

Congratulations on your new companion and welcome to the forum. With only a week of transition your guy is still getting the lay of the land. It's good he is so friendly and eating well. I have a grey and a red bellied parrot and both are generally quiet without distinctive "bird" sounds. The red bellied parrot's only "chirp" is an imitation of the cockatiel we fostered. Our Timneh imitates the imitation of the cockatiel.