NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Safety & the Holidays

Greywings

I'm no expert in the toy department (as we know). I don't give Inara egg cartons to play with because if they are used, I just consider the possibility of disease transmission. The foam ones, you could probably wash really well, and if Timber doesn't eat the pieces maybe they'd be OK? I bet some of the more experienced members who make toys, etc would know.

Excellent article! Thank you for sharing!

The case studies, while heartbreaking, might save future lives. I had never even thought about children hiding chocolate before. Of course, we don't have children of our own, so many of these things are not something that would easily come to mind. It's always better to read things like this and learn from the mistakes of others than to have to suffer through it first-hand.

I hope everyone has a safe holiday season!

Question about safety. Is a styrofoam egg carton OK for Timber? I'm thinking no, but I also know that is the kind of thing he loves...

Based on scientific tests over five decades, government safety agencies have determined that polystyrene is safe for use in food-service products. For example, polystyrene meets the standards of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and the European Commission/European Food Safety Authority for use in packaging to store and serve food.

Polystyrene is common container for food and drinks. The styrene monomer (from which polystyrene is made) is a cancer suspect agent; it is "generally found in such low levels in consumer products that risks are low".