NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

How has being owned by a parrot change you?

Shelly Yokum

How has being owned by a parrot change you?

I have read in several place that a bird has changed their lives. I know that they have mine.

I use to hate bird poop on my car, seems as if I would never have poo on their until the day I washed it.

I buy healthy foods now, and catch myself taking nibbles of fresh fruits and veggies while preparing their dishes.

When I fix lunch and dinner, I am always thinking a head, so that the fids can be out at the dinner table.

Austin as most knows has a learning disability and only said a couple of words until we got the parrots. Now he can almost have a conversation. He has learned so many words trying to get the birds to repeat him. He never showed an interest in learning until I started training and teaching the birds. He now sings to them the ABC song.

Who knows what will brighten the day of even the younger lives.

I have a new respect for the larger beaks.

I love my fids unconditionally just the same as they love me. They can make a bad day all better.

I can go on and on, but I want to hear from others.

They have changed my life in so many ways. My kids, and my fids have taught me what unconditional love is. My fids have taught me how much an animal can love a human, and vice versa. They have taught me how much one single look can communicate what would be an entire conversation. They have changed my life for the better, and it wouldn't be the same without them in it.

They have changed my life too in so many ways and like many of your reasons too. I used to hate to see bird poop on my vehicle but now its cat prints I hate more.