NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

New here, and expecting a baby!

DawL

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here. My name is Amber, and I live in NC. I am semi new to CAG'S, but not to birds as a general term. I have worked in many pet stores in my life, and was a volunteer at a bird rescue a few eyars back. I used to live in Indianapolis, but relocated to NC 2 years ago. I have taken care of greys in the pet stores, and rescues. I was actually always in charge of the bird room in the stores I worked at. I got my first birds when I was 14. I got 2 male cockatiels, and I still have them to this day...they are now 15 years old. I also have a Quaker Parrot named Kiwi. She is my little green shadow. My cockatiels prefer to not be bothered often. When I got them I was all they knew...now I have kids, and everything else, but overall...they have adjusted well.

I wanted to join this forum becuase I am a firm believer that no matter how much you think you know, you can always learn something new. I am expecting my first grey sometime in the near-ish future. I am getting him from Lea and Bob at Five Oaks Aviary. They have been wonderful to work with. When I contacted them, they happened to have one baby left (I had been looking for the perfect place to get my baby for 6 months) so it just felt meant to be. My baby was hatched 10/27/11, so is still very young. We will eventually do DNA sexing, and I can't wait! I am just excited to know, I guess. Everything here at home has been prepared for our babies arrival, and now it is just a waiting game. Lea is very good about updating me on my baby, and I have attached the pics I got of him/her a week or so ago. These are all I have so far, the holidays keep people very busy. I will post more when I get them.

It is great to have found this forum, and I thank everyone who has made it possible!

CongoGreyBabyFOA11-06111311d.jpg

CONGOAFRICANGREYBABYFOA11-02110511D.jpg