NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

What kind of weather/temp?

Ronda477

Ok I'm sure ya'll have a field day with me on this one, but I'm new and I'm still learning! I understand now from talking to someone else on the forum that wanting to show off my bird outside of my house is a no no for awhile until she is well trained. Understand that. Now my question is I have read you can't have your bird in a draft, understand that as well, but we don't live in a new house and although I can keep her away from the door and windows in the winter will this be good enough? We keep our house 65 at night and 71 or so when we are home. As for the summer time we try to keep it cool but we live in a hot box where the sun beats down on the house cause we live at the top of a mountain and out in a field. So am I basically in bad shape here? What temps can I keep the house and how hot can it get? I'm not saying it gets in the 90's in here, we plan on getting C/A next year and this probably won't be a problem anyway, but I just wanted to know what the house temps should be for all year round? What should I avoid? Like I said I know you'll probably laugh at me but I want to know your opinion. We don't live in TX or somewhere it is nice all year basically. We live in WV and need to know how we should keep the house. Thank you!! Oh here's a new pic of her, the breeder sends me one every Monday! Heart_9_10_2007_2_01_01_PM.JPG

Heart_9_10_2007_2_01_01_PM.JPG

I wouldn't worry too much about what temperatures to keep your house, they adapt pretty well, in fact in their native habitat, the congo, it gets very warm to hot. Whatever is comfortable for you will suit your grey.

Thanks for sharing the newest picture of your new grey with us, how soon before she gets to come home? I know you can hardly wait.