NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

five week old

btdaycare

I have a five week old Timneh, when do I introduce veggies and fruits into his diet and how? He is currently eating 3-4 droppers full a time, feeding about every four hours till ten at night.

Also when do I put him in a cage, how do I go from heated box to cage. He is currently housed in a plastic box with a heating pad under 3/4 of it.

I am by NO means an expert, but we got Dayo around the same age he is now a very healthy happy 17 week old.

We introduced both his pellet and small fresh vegetables as soon as we got him home - he was very curious and moving around well, so we wanted to make sure he was acclimated to his food bowls and different textures/tastes. Just be sure to change/remove any fresh veggies after a few hours. (and keep them on the side of the box with no heat under it)

As far as cage goes, if at all possible, but the box inside the cage for a few hours a day so he can get used to his cage. If the box will not fit (Dayos did not fiit lol) After about a week or two (once he was acclimated to us and a bit more comfortable and actually had some feathers lol) we lined the cage with newspaper and a towel and put some of his favorite toys in there and let him sit in there for a few hours at a time.

Hope this helps!

Would love t see some pictures of the baby!!

Introducing veggies is done with the items being in the formula from day 1. Right now, there's is a chance that any change in the formula may not agree with the bird and if illness or a bad reaction occurs it could cause a lot of trouble because of their extreme sensitivity to different things and the age of the bird. Commercial formulas don't have all the ingredients that should be in formula.