NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Question about Bonding

Deucypher

Hi! I'm new here so please take it easy on me :)

My wife and I are buying a newly weaned CAG and I was wondering if I spend more time with it than my wife does will it be more likely to bond to me? also if it does bond to me...will it hate my wife? like I don't totally understand the "one person bird" phrase....will it HATE and attack everyone else? or will they also be able to hold, teach and play with it as well?

Also...what is a Fid? lol is that short for "flying kid?" srry i'm a noob I guess lol

anyways thanx so much

Hey Deucypher :D

the "one person bird" means your bird will choose its favorite person despite who spends more time with him/her. Rorschach our CAG has chosen me as his favorite even though David (bf) is home with him all day every day. He does spend time with Rorschach but as soon as I came home he would fly to mommy. There are times when Rorschach would get nasty to David when I was around but with a lot of time and Patience Rorschach loves David just as much as he loves me.

Fid is a feathered Kid

:)

Hi Deucypher and welcome to the forum.

All greys are differant and they can pick one person or the family. Some greys my pick a person even if they are not the care taker. Our grey Corky loves me my wife and our son and any body thats comes into our home that will give her attention. She has always been the center of attraction in our house and she eats it up.

A fid is a feathered kid and after you have one for a time you will understand.

Both you and your wife take an active part in bring her up. She may pick one person and except the other or she could pick the family.

A grey is like a two year old child that will be with you for ever and ever and ever and ever.

welcome into our grey family, with time u get to really feel the meaning of a fid...lol