NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Can a bad clip keep feathers from growing?

KimKim

Can a bad clip keep wing feathers from ever growing back? There has been a few people I know that said this happens.. and that they know of birds that this has happened to. Myself and a friend have doubts about it, so can anyone answer this? Thanks.

I am by no means an expert and I am trying not to be facetious (ok, maybe just a little) - but what is a bad clip vs. a good clip? If we were to follow the line of thinking of the people with whom you spoke, isn't a clipped feather a clipped feather albeit good or bad; so why would a clipped feather grow at all? Does that make sense?

Anyway, unfortunately, Tumnus was clipped when I got him and in my opinion it ended up being a bad clip. He was chewing on his feathers and I didn't happen to notice until one day I saw that he didn't have any feathers in one section. Took him to the vet as I was afraid I had a plucker and wanted to nip it in the bud. The vet said that the clip was irritating him and he was just trying to get comfortable. Comfort ended up being that Tumnus eventually removed the irritating feathers (pretty much all of the clipped feathers) and then allowing new ones to grow out.

So if there is such a thing as a bad clip, I guess the feathers will eventually be replaced.