NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

talking question

rick6477

i have had nemo since he was 3 months old i live alone with him and talk to him constantly he is now 11 months old and still nothing but cherping and whistling is there anything else i should try or just figure he won't be a talker which is ok but i have always wanted a parrot that can talk so i got a male congo african grey figured it was my best bet he is a sweet and wonderful bird and nothing could seperate us now i just would love to hear him talk

I'm not an expert but I do know that birds vocalize for a reason. If you are always there, he may not have a need to call for you. If you are out of sight, he may find a reason to "call" for you. Someone else will come along with more experienced information if I'm incorrect.

Rick, some parrots don't talk until they are over a year old, some longer and, of course, some never. My grey says the words she wants, some words she never tries to say, some she says immediately. It all depends on a parrot's interest in the words. Sometimes voice inflections are something a grey likes, sometimes because it is related to something they like or want. Or maybe it is a reaction the word brings out of you or someone else. So don't worry about it, Nemo's words will come in Nemo's time and you just have to wait. Don't give up and keep talking to Nemo.

I live alone too. Echo was 14 months old before she said her first word. Now there are times where I wish she would stop talking for just 5 minutes. Even though I talk directly to her all the time, most of her words are comments I say to other animal members of the household. She has taught me that I talk to my dogs much more than I realized! You just never know how good of a talker a bird will be no matter what the species. I had many birds in my youth and none of them has talked nearly as well as a male cockatiel that I received as a rescue bird.

009.jpg