NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Proud New Grey Owner :)

Hi everyone!

Ok, i have been researching african greys for a few months now, and decided to buy a 6 month old (now 7 months) hand bred grey. I had bought it a month ago but decided to leave it at the pet shop since i was moving homes and was told that they usually go into shock when they first move into a new place.

So now that i have settled into my new house, i went to the breeder and picked him up. I named him BAMBINO :).

He's been with me for a day now and he's been very quiet and just frozen at one spot in his cage. At the pet shop he seemed more social and noisy! lol I guess that's normal right?

I was also told that i have to feed him 30 mm of multivitamin mix via a syringe twice a day since he is still young. Would really appricate it if anyone could give me some "new owner tips".

Oh and does it have to be dark and quiet for Bambino to sleep?

Thanks,

Mark

Welcome Mark and Bambinoi!

Your new Grey is going to be very cautious for a while, new home, person etc. Just move slow around him and the cage, do not introduce any new toys at this time and if there are toys in the cage you notice Bambino is sitting far away from and cowering, remove them. The best thing you could do right now is exercise patience and sit next to the cage while you watch TV or listen to tunes or read. Bambino will come around and become comfortable with you closer in his timing.