NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Strange Behavior

rbpittman

I'm new to owning an African Grey but am absolutely in love with my Dixie. She is a 14 month old, dna sexed female that was hand raised and I've had her about a three weeks. We've gotten along wonderfully the whole time and I'm learning her body language with great response from her when I get it right - she now gladly comes over and gives me a kiss - literally - for no reason.

The behavior in question is new as of this week. When I scratch her head and neck and she nuzzles my hand, she seems to want more. She doesn't flatten out her wings, but rather raises them slightly at the shoulders and squats down and whines. I can't find anything else to explain this behavior. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

She just wants more scritched and cuddled it just sounds to me like shes letting you know that shes ready for your relationship to go on to the bext step see what she does when you try cupping your hand gently over her back. I know some greys like to lay on their humans chest and be held and scritched and petted all at the same time. she is still very much a baby and this may be her way of saying cuddle me please.

Thank you sooooo much. I do love this bird - more than I have ever loved any of my dogs, I guess because she really does seem to understand me and respond to me in an intelligent way. When she displays this behavior again, I will gladly cuddle her and see how she responds, she is really a great companion, to me, my son and my husband - she loves us all it seems. Thank you again. I'll let you know how it turns out.

Hello Rbpittman and welcome to our family, you have just joined an elite group of grey lovers who care deeply about their birds.