NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

New here. Need help. Please read!

Hello everyone. I'm Joe and I am new to the parrot world. Some of you may cringe at the situation here, but never the less, I am the proud new parent of a Grey named Joey. And here is our story:

About a week ago I received a phone call from my mother. She said her friend Georgia had just bought a local business and was looking for a home for Joey, as she would no longer have the time to care for him. Now, I had met Joey before. And to be completely honest, I didn't care too much for him. As bad as I feel about it now, my first impression of him was that he was an ugly bird. You see, he is a plucker. I'll get more into that later. My first response was that I don't know if I would be willing to take on a commitment like that. But in my mind I was thinking "Why would I want an ugly bird". And I also thought of what my friends would think and say. But after a day of thinking about the situation, I started doing a lot of research on Grey's and on parrots in general.

So I began learning about Grey's and their behaviors. Now, I'm not claiming to have any extensive knowledge about the behavioral psychology of birds, however I did learn a great deal. And as I learned more about Joey's history, I began to feel for him and started to romance the idea of having him around. And why not? After all, come to find out, we have a lot in common (Besides our names). LOL.