NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

To get or not get an African Grey

KyleA

Hello Eveyone!

As you can probably already see I am a newbie to this forum. I am not, however, a newbie to CAG's in the sense that I have longed for one since I was about 12 yeas of age and have researched diets, cages, toys, care, training, and even diseases for CAG's. I am now 18 almost 19 and have not lost the desire to own one. I lead a relatively busy life, I work 4 days a week from 9AM to 6 or 7PM. 2 days of the week are for school, During which time I am gone from 8AM to 4PM and I have one full day off to myself.

My question is: With this schedule would it be a good idea/possible for me to get a CAG? WOuld this be enough "at home" time to own a CAG? I do not want to buy one and then find out 3 or 4 months later that I cannot handle it. I would be DEVASTATED if I had to give up to poor animal. Anyways, If anyone has any advice or guidance on this matter please give me the straight honest answer on if I should get one or not!

Thanks in advance to everyone that replies!

- Kyle

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome Kyle!!

Thank you for doing such tremendous research and putting so much thought into getting a Grey at this time.

At your stage in life, change is something that occurs in a much faster pace than once you are out of school, in to a career, perhaps married and moving quite often sometimes.

A schedule such as yours is doable of course for maintaining a Grey. But, is it realistic that you would be able to actually give your Grey the time needed on a consistent basis?

I am uncertain of what type of higher learning you are attending right now. But, the level of education you may be pursing could end up being very demanding of your time.

Also, starting out in a new career is normally very demanding time wise depending upon which field you are going in.