NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Blood Chemistry

spookyhurst

I took Nikko to the vet last month to have a check up, and they ran a blood chemistry panel. I got the results in the mail yesterday. All the numbers came back pretty good. The only two abnormal readings were that her albumin was a little high, and her phosphorous was a little low. Anyone know what that means?

I'm also going to need to slightly modify her diet to increase calcium and potassium a little, and decrease sodium a little. The numbers were all in the normal range, but a little close to the edges. Nikko's going to have to cut back on her junkfood intake, namely tostito chips :whistle:.

Hi Spookyhurst, I'm no vet, gut I am a medical student! You were saying that the values were all in the normal range, but close to the edges - if this is the case, I shouldn't worry. Albumin is a protein that carries all sorts of things round the body, and it's produced in the liver. When it gets broken down it's pee'd out (or the birdy equivalent - the white bit of their poo). If it was low I'd be worried, as it means that the liver isn't working properly, but I think it's fine if it's a bit high.

As for the calcium and potassium, these can vary quite considerably over just a few hours. If you want to increase potassium, there's lots in bananas and potatoes. As for the calcium, there's plenty in meat (I feed casper with small amounts of chicken and fish if I'm eating it), and I also give him small dog rawhide chews, which contain calcium.

Julia

Hey spookyhurst,