NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Trip or Home Alone???

Boocha

My 6 year old african grey, ChaCha has only been with me 3 weeks. He is getting used to things slowly. He's still on the scared side. I also have a 5 year old Yellow Nape Amazon, Boozle. I have left Boozle for a weekend a couple of times locked in her cage and had a friend come over and check on her food and water once a day and everything was fine.

My question is should I take him or leave him? I am going to a big family get together and don't want to upset him anymore since he is getting used to being here somewhat. I thought it might undo what we have accomplished. We plan to leave early Sat morn. and return by 6 pm Sunday night. I have a friend that will check on them Sunday and feed/water them if needed.

Any suggestions or thoughts from you long term grey owners!

I am no expert, but I think if I were in your shoes, I would probably leave Cha Cha with Boozle this time, and take the opportunity to let him see that if you leave you will make sure someone takes care of him. It's a tough call: I'm choosing this because he's very new to your environment and you say he's still rather spooky. I would think the peace and quiet, (together with Boozle, who can model for him that it's okay) might be easier on him than being brought into a big family gathering, where a lot of "strangers" (to him) are focusing their attention on him, and convesely the attention he is used to getting from you will undoubtedly be at least somewhat usurped by them as well.

Could your friend possibly also spend a half hour or so at least chatting and talking with the birds, as well as checking on food and water? Could you leave a radio or TV on a timer to help keep them entertained?

Let us know what you decide, and how it works out!