NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Timmy my first Timneh Grey!!!!!!!

Sehar

Hi everyone

I am new to the world of grey. I just brought my baby timneh home 2 weeks ago. He is four months old. We have named him Timmy. My vet has asked me to continue his hand feeding even though the breeder has said he was weaned so a bit confused. Any help would be appreciated whether I should or not? Also is 260g a normal weight for a baby timneh grey? I also have two other parrot a jenday conure named pari and indian ringneck named sunny. Timmy has already started to talk and sometimes sounds like a out of tune radio....loool...He loves to hang upside down which is hilarious. i luv him to bits. I would love to know more about the toys they might like and if clicker training is any good?

Sehar xxx

Welcome Sehar and Flock!!

It's GreYt having you here.

If Timmy accepts and wants a feeding, then by all means do so. The weight is fine for a Timneh, just weigh him daily at the same time, normally first thing in the morning after the take their first poop is preferred. This will give you a constant reading you can track and establish a good baseline of his weight.

He sounds like quite a character at only 4 months old. :-)

Hi Sehar, I too have a new 4 month old. No name yet as I am still awaiting DNA confirmation. I call her she because, why not!! Fortunately my grey eats everything I give her; she luvs my cornbread full of vegetables and pine nuts. As for toys, she luvs foot toys and spends lots of time on her playtop and on the top of my desk. She wants to type in the worst way!!! We cuddle all the time. So glad you and Timmy have joined our family.

We actually still give both of our greys formula every once and a while so they stay used to it. If they get sick, it is an easy way to give them meds and it is healthy for them.

Also, I am sure your vet knows best.