NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

advice?

moddo422

Hello i just recently got a 7 year old cag named budy.

he doesnt seem mean and doesnt go out of his way to bite.i sat down on the floor and got him to come to me from his cage he walked down to me once but hasnt done it again ? wats a good way to get him to wanna come onto me or step up?i now have had him for one week wat kind of attitude should i expect at this age plaese help me out im a rookie with cag"s

Thanks Mike

Give the poor chap a chance! He has had just a week to come to terms with his new situation and you. Just treat him with love and respect and I am sure he will soon accept you as his friend. Greys tend to bond strongly with their partners and friends and they have long memories so he may be still wondering about those he used to live with. You can encourage him by offering treats but generally he will want to be with you for companionship rather than bribes.

I am sure you know that greys are wonderful and highly intelligent companion animals and he will soon feel at home with you.

Steve n Misty

Mistyparrot gives good advice.

At 7 years old, he has fully matured, has his likes and dislikes and is now in a new home, flock he is not familiar with and surrounded by new furnishings.

Believe it or not, him climbing out of his cage and crossing the floor to check you out is a HUGE step for him. It mean he had come to the conclusion that the surroundings out of the cage were safe for a quick jaunt to test the waters. He also found that your were ok, didnt try to molest him in any manner and behaved yourself in respecting his "Space" and his bubble of safety.

Keep encouraging that behavior, have a treat that he likes like a peanut, sunflower seed, grape, apple piece etc. and offer it to him to come and get it. This will build the trust further.