NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

ok I am new at this help!!

hanadupre

Ok I just bought a Grey last week. Dont know if its a girl or boy but I have a habit of saying her, so anyway. She was so sweet when we got her and loved to be petted. I ordered a bigger cage for her because the guy i bought her from gave me this little 2 1/2 foot cage witch is not big enough for her. havent gotten it in yet should be in next week. Well today she does not want to be touched at all she keeps rubbing her beak on my in my hand and grabbing my finger with her claws and biting on my nails like she is trying to crack open a peanut. She is acting weird today, do you thing she could be sick. She has been scratching around her ears and eyes a lot too. I give her bathes well I spray her with a water bottle.

She is also stuck on seeds she will not touch the fruit pellets. She will eat apples and grapes but thats it other than her seeds. I heard that it wasnt good for an all seed diet but I know everyone and there bird are different. If anyone could give me any advise I would appreciate it.

Greetings hanadupre and welcome. I dont see if you mentioned (or know) how old the bird is that you acquired. Also out of curiousity do you have previous experience with birds? My guess from the subject line is maybe not. I ask only because experience can help identify "normal" behaviours (like normal scratching etc) vs potentially health related issues.

In general, any bird in a new home will take at least a month and up to 6 months or more to really feel comfortable in a new home, with a new owner, new sights, sounds smells...everything. Remember these birds live long lived (usually 50+ yrs) so many take to change cautiously as you or I might if we are all of a sudden in a brand new place. It is fairly standard for them to go through some phases, expressing the desire for cuddling and establishing independence as they acclimate to a new place.