NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

HELP!!!!!!!! Please!!!!

Kakariki

Hiya. New to site. It's great!! I have a problem that I need advise with. It may be a long one but if you can spare time to read it I'd be so grateful!!

I always wanted an African Grey but thought I would read up about them first so I have been researching African Greys for 2 years now via books and internet ect and decided that I did want one and had what it took to look after one. I started to save up and bought a large cage and lots of toys and food. I went to a local pet shop and bought a Grey last week. He was cheaper than most because the lady said his owner had passed away and they didn't know anything about him or his background. I bought him home and left him alone for a couple of days. However, I'm starting to wonder if he's actually wild. He's older than a year and looks to be in good health. He copies other birds and can wolf whistle but that's it. He will eat nothing but seed so I am trying to wean him off it. He's obviously never tried veg and fruit as when I put it in the cage he's scared of it and wont move until I remove it. Whenever I go near the cage he growls and hunches over and is obviously very scared. I put my hand in to change his food and he screeches. I have sat by his cage talking to him and I whistle and talk to him when I'm not in the room but he's so frightened.