NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Hey all! Along with questions

Darkmocha

How are you guys doing? I've been doing a ton of research on birds for years, and I was a manager at both Petco and Petsmart when I was younger. Now that I'm older with a good job, time and my own place, I'm finally ready to get a Grey.

I've contacted a bird rescue in my area and I will be adopting one of two African Greys that were recently put up for adoption. Their roughly 15 years old and were kept in a travel cage all their lives if I'm not mistaken. Their owner is sick with cancer and unfortunately can not care for them anymore. Despite the cramped cage, I'm informed they're in good spirits.

My question is an odd one, I'm pretty sure with the owner not being able to afford a good cage, I would assume that they're on a mostly if not all seed diet. Now, is there a seed diet out there that I can mix with pellets that does not have peanuts? I ask not because of the bird's health (although that is one reason), but mostly because I'm allergic to them and I don't want to kill myself while trying to wean him off of the seeds :woohoo:

Also, how would you guys go about helping a bird of that age get comfortable in a new surrounding? I've been able to deal with many birds who were "trouble" birds in the stores I've worked before, but never a bird older than 2 or so.

And please shower me with any other advice you can think of, I'm not to proud to turn down the sage words of more experienced people!

Hi Darkmocha

Welcome to the forum. I admire you for taking on an older grey, and I imagine you will get great satisfaction knowing you have improved his life so much.

I can't help you with the details of where to buy a mix without nuts as I don't live in the US, but it has to be possible as it is unfortunatley a fairly common allergy:unsure: