NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

a guiet bird

Bellas_Buddy

Hi. I'm brand new to any forum, but being concerned about my CAG Bella, I hope there are folks with more experience with greys.

Bella has been very quiet for about a week. She eats well, but is not as animated as she usually is. She still wants her neck scratched, but doesn't do her usual antics.

I would say if there is a noteable change in behavior she should be seen by an avian vet. Has anything changed in the house at all? Sometimes changes in the enviroment or flock can cause behavior changes...but to be sure I would still go to the vet as soon as you can.

Birds always hide their illness so any change in behavial, eating habbits, voice...anything...should not be treated lightly. By the time a bird looks all out sick it can be too late to do anything. Catching things early when there is only small indications of illness always has a higher rate of treatments woring.

I agree even a small change can mean something is wrong and because they are so good at hiding any type of illness I would take her to the vet just to rule anything like that out If the Vet gives her a clean bill of health then you can look for other reasons why she all of a sudden went quiet but to me it sounds like she is sick

Hello and Welcome Bellas_Buddy!!

If Bella is eating normal, thats a good sign. How does her poop look, is it normal?

How is her weight doing, staying steady? Is it going down?

Is she sitting fluffed up more than normal?

Does she seem to have good balance?

If any of the above is true, you should take her to a vet for a check-up to determine what the possible underlying cause could be.