NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Question???

Raiderbabe

Malibu spends all day home with me while my boyfriend is at work. I am a teacher so I have the whole summer off to spend time with him until I go back to school. He is really bonding with me and we are working on step up and he is getting that. He is also very lovey with me and lets me hold him and pet him. When my boyfriend comes home he does not want any parts of him. He makes squaking sounds if he tries to touch him. He backs away from him and runs to me. I have tried letting them sit on the couch together and have him try to hold him. The only way he will actually go to him is if he shows him a treat and he will actually get on his hand for it. I know they are one person birds usually but I would like him to be able to try to bond with him. Any suggestions on what to do? Please help!!!

A quick note though about your situation first. You being home all the time now and when school starts that means you away all day..From all the research ive read they say not to do that im not sure how long you've had him but keep that in mind. The treats is a good start they do switch back and forth with favs if given the chance eg. you going back to work your bf will have a good chance to sneak in there as a new fav. I know my gf took many many months of bites and growls etc. and ive had him just over a year and he still prefers me when im around but allows her to pick him up etc now whereas before shed get a bite for her effort. she did it with no fear mentality and treats and spmetimes just hey birdy you got no one else here now you have to step up!!