NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Unsure about getting leg band

cdelatorrejr

All,

I am new to the grey forum and I wanted to let everyone know I just put a deposit for a TAG and expecting to bring it home within the month. I am so excited I can't sit still. I can't remember a time when I didn't want an AG. I was asked by the breeder whether or not I wanted the TAG banded. I understand the purpose of the band and agree it is a great way to track or identify the AG but I am concerned about the TAG's comfort, hazards and health concerns. I am considering having him/her microchipped as an alternative. Can anyone give me advice, pros and cons about either option? Thanks in advance.

I opted not to put the leg band on my grey, I am keeping the band along with the hatch certificate but I have heard sometimes it causes problems and has to be cut off so why put it on in the first place.

I do not have Josey microchipped but some of the members here do have theirs chipped and they have had no problems with them, I'm sure some of them will chime in with their opinions and thoughts on it for you.

In the meantime why don't you introduce yourself in the welcome room and tell us a little about you and this new Tag.:)

I have 4 greys, My two girls, who are both re-homes do have leg rings, my two boys do not have leg rings but are microchipped.I know the rings can irritate some greys & they can get them caught while playing.It really is a personal choice.As for ID purposes, if god forbid your grey was ever lost wearing a leg ring will make no difference if your grey was to fall in the hands of a dishonest person.