NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Is a African Grey Right for me?

Atomic081

First of all i would like say hi to everyone...HI.

My Wife is considering getting a African Grey (her other option is a Cockatoo) this summer and i would like to know some more information before we spend any money. Her prior bird experience's include Parakeets, a Sun Conure, and a Cockatiel. She wants a mid to large bird that is smart and friendly. Ive created a list of questions i have

1. My biggest concern is with the African Greys plucking feathers. We tend to move houses every 2 years because i build houses for a living. I also like to go on a few vacations a year (nothing over 2 weeks). I was hoping that these 2 things would not make a bird pluck. Her parents have offered to bird sit if needed but ive heard they will pluck sometimes if owners leave for extended periods

2. I have a dog. Do African Grays usually do well with dogs? The dog is very good with birds, even to the point that our cockatiel could ride on her back.

3. Should we buy the bird as a baby? My wife will have all next year off so she wanted to use this time to devote to a baby bird. Is this a good choice considering all her other birds were full grown when she got them.

4. How big of a cage do i need? What material? Is it worth it to take the plunge and get a stainless steel cage or will another cage get the job done? This is what i was looking at to start.

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=5059+10346+17991&pcatid=17991

5. What is the dif between the Timneh and Congo African Greys other than color and size?

6. Breeder locations? Im from Indiana, does anyone know of a breeder in the midwest?

Thanks ahead of time, im sure ill have more questions but for now thats all i can think about.

Ross and Erin

Hi there...I'm going to reply because no one else has and I've seen that you've been on the site lurking around for a while now.. :)