NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Hello all!

Heya, I'm new to the forums :) I've been researching birds for a few years and decided that African Grays were the bird for me. I found this site and I'm hoping it'll be a great resource for more information! It'll be a couple of years yet before I can get a bird so I want to put the time to good use.

Hello Gaevren and welcome to the family, so glad you decided to join us and we look forward to hearing more about you and your quest for a grey.

You have made a wise decision to research thoroughly and gather and read all you can before you do actually get your grey. They are unlike a lot of the other parrots and you need to understand what all is involved in owning one. It is a lifetime committment that is not be be taken lightly.

Please read thru the many threads for lots of useful and helpful information and do not hesitate to ask questions you may have, we will do our best to get you some answers and help you in any way we can.

Do you have any birds at this time, I am assuming you don't since you said you are researching birds but thought I would ask.:)

We have one parakeet that belongs to my daughter. She's 10 years old and has had this parakeet for about a year and a half. She was begging me for a pet "of her own" so I told her yes under certain conditions. She had to take care of our other animals every day (dog and a cat at that time, the cat is no longer with us) without me reminding her, and she had to earn the money to buy the bird and all its accessories herself, and would have to earn the money to buy her bird's food, toys, upkeep, etc. as well as care for her bird (training, feeding, and so on). I said if she did all that, I would pay for any vet care.