NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

NEW African Grey owner - HELP

Lucy776

I am a real estate agent and I just inherited an African Grey today from a client that has a fatal illnes. The Greys living conditions were not so good. When I went to get him I took a pressure washer any cleaned his cage before moving it. His cage hadn't been cleaned in months, properly cleaned in years??? Anyway, he has a clean cage now, I plan to take him tho the vet this week. I don't think he's healthly. He did bob when the other day when I went to see before I brought him home. I've had him only about eight hours now and he has not bobbed in that time however he was very unnerved at first and has seemed to calm down. I went and bought him some toys, treats and a new perch. He's had very little interaction the last year. I hope gain his trust and have him become a part of our family. I've been reading a little about AG's online and am worried. Like I mentioned before, he did bop up and down the other day, he does have flacky dry looking skin, he does have a couple mildly bare spots on his chest and I think his diet has been very poor. I used gloves to move him and he did bite, Is it worth upsetting him again to take him out of his cage to the vet tomorrow? What do I need to have them do to him? Should I have him bathed? I'd appreciate any advice/help I can get. I'd love nothing more than him to be healthy and love me. Thanks Read the full post...

Congrats on your new baby! It sounds like he's very lucky to have you as his new mom :).