NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Older Greys

rik7580

I am looking into getting a 10 year old, sold as talking and tame, the question I would like help with is basically 'Can you teach an older parrot, new tricks?', i.e., do they learn so much vocabulary-wise, then that's it!

I have some experience from childhood, but this was through younger birds, that were mainly my parents pets.

Help of any kind would be much appreciated, from anyone that has purchased an older bird particularly, but anything else would be equally helpful and appreciated

Hi & Welcome,Firstly do you have any background on the bird ? how was he treated, Is he bonded to anyone,Older birds can certainly be successful, but there is lot of potential for problems. An older bird that is not tame will be very difficult to tame & require a great amount of time spent working with him.A tame older parrot may be very bonded to its previous owner and many not be as tame with a new owner,at the very least it may take time and patience to get such a bird to fully trust and start to bond with you,I would say be prepared to accept the bird for what he is, if he extends his vocabulary then treat it as a bonus.

Thanks for that, at the moment I only have that he is 'tame and talking'. Was told when I rang about his age. I was hoping to get more information from the owner face-to-face. I have been told the grey is staying with a good friend of his, due to his girlfriend being pregnant. Hopefully by seeing the interaction between bird and humans I'll see how much potential there is.

Might be easier to put the extra money in for a 'baby'. Then again, if he is a nice, well looked-after bird, would be willing to take him on and perservere with him, hopefully get him used to me eventually.

If get him, will keep you up-to-date on how he's doing if you want.

Thanks again :)