NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Im new here

HaRRo

Hi guys im new here and to parrots, i had a Quaker Parrot still do, and 2days ago got a lovely African Grey of 18weeks and male, he can whistle and talk a few words and laugh, and having problems stepping up i have to lift him from underneath on both his sides then he steps up, he bites sometimes, not hard though seems playful, but if i annoy him he makes his growl then i leave him be.

Any tips for me like bathing, showering, things i should know.

He also starts sqeeling loud so i ignore him, but hes new so im assuming its setting in, he has a big cage, also ordered a huge pech play thing, chew balls, foot toy things, im not an expert but i bought a ton of things online that should arrive shortly that should keep him happy and healthy.

I would not say im scared of him biting or scared of him at all, i just really dont wanna annoy him and give him a bad temperment, so i guess thats why im here. He does like me i get a lot of tail wagging after i lift him and play around (he does stay on my hand only when i lift him onto it, but no step up yet) he has came over and climbed up on my shoulder himself and stayed there for about an hour fiddling his beak and cuddling up to my neck, this really broke my back lol.

Anyway im here to learn of the rest of you as i wanna give this bird (unnamed so far) a brilliant amazing life and home.

Hes my new parrot for life.

Thanks any tips appreciated

Hello HaRRo,