NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Starting to speak.

reptoman

Zoe is becoming easier to understand. Still sounds more like croaks and whistles for the most part but I can hear the occasional word here and there. She is also starting to piece together parts of the songs I have been whisteling to her since we got her 6 months ago. Very excited to hear her saying words but with the way she enjoys her 2 hour long chattering sessions I fear there will come a day when we wish she would stop talking ;) For now the smallest speech progress is super exciting.

I loved watching your video. My CAG Gracie is now 4 years old. She was about 9 months old when she started sounding like she might talk. Lots of "words" that I couldn't quite understand but were definitely not "parrotese". Your Zoe sounds a lot like Gracie did at the same age. Between 10-14 months Gracie built a vocabulary of about 15 words. Then at 14 months it seemed like a switch went on and she started learning words, phrases, sounds, songs, etc very very quickly. She now has a vocabulary of 100s of words. The good news is that although she does have times when she chatters incessantly, she is not loud and has quiet times as well. I don't get irritated with her. It is really like hanging out with a friend and having "conversation". Most of the chatter is meaningful and not just noise, so it serves a purpose. I look forward to seeing and hearing more of Zoe's language development, She is cute. It made me think about maybe adding a TAG to my home, but I suspect Gracie would be against it and she has veto power.