NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

spices/herbs

tommiekris

Starting this post to get some thoughts/information on spices and herbs (not the smoking kind). As a former Chef I know that these are used for all kinds of purpose. Spice, in culinary world typically refers to the seed/fruit or root of a plant while herb is the leaf/flower of the plant. For example Coriander the spice is the seed from the coriander plant which is also where we get Cilantro (leaf/stem). The Dill plant is another example. Anyway, my general question centers around use, are there any favorites, are there any health benefits or do the birds even care? Thanks!!

Birds have different taste buds than us. Parrots, from Budgies to Macaws love hot peppers. Fresh parsley is a big favorite. Cinnamon, too. My guys like 5 spice powder on their oatmeal. Many people give their birds pasta with tomato sauce/gravy on it. (If you're Italian, it's gravy, if not, it's sauce). I mention that because there is a bunch of spices there. I do not eat pasta, so my birds get theirs plain (whole wheat) with their veggies. I do cook a lot of Asian food, and they get Asian spices with that. Stay away from the Alliums (onions, shallots, chives, etc.) . Salt is also not good for birds. Check the Toxic Foods lists for birds, here and online, for other things to avoid. There are many herbs & spices that you can give them, but, moderation is the key. Cook their food with a light hand.