NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Driving

Echo

I have not been able to find any real info about this, other then a few stories on the internet.

What is the deal with driving with your Parrot?

I am a truck driver, and if I would be able to take my Grey with me while I work, I think it would be great! I have a huge cab with plenty of space for them to move about and play. And since I own my own truck, I could customize anything I want to make it more comfortable for my Grey!

Are they able to ride along or do they get nervous being in a moving vehicle?

Is this plausible or just a no-no?

From what I've read here some greys love to travel in a car. I would just keep temperature in mind that If you are traveling the truck can never get too cold for your grey.... I'm not sure what that exact temp. limit is but I'm sure someone here can chime in.

It really is an individual thing, I think. Miss Gilbert has traveled extensively by car between the Atlanta area and Buffalo region. We make each trip in one long haul. She doesn't like moving in the dark but I give her a night light and that helps. She eats and drinks along the way now but she didn't in the beginning. It's tough for either of our parrots to relax in a moving car, so depending on your schedule, breaks and time in motion, it could work with the right bond between you and your companion. Keeping water from splashing and the mess of food and shredded toys etc in your rig could be a challenge. It would take a tremendous amount of planning and commitment. Would you have time and a way to get to a vet while on the road? Would your schedule keep you away from your home base or do you travel daily on the same route and return home in case your buddy can't adjust to the travel?