NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

need help plz on baby parrot

nicky222

im new to haveing a african grey parrot i got him 2 days ago and he is 12 wk old.i put him in is cage to begin wiv and he was fine he still is wen i hold him it wen i go to get him out of the cage all of his feathers blow up and he goes to bite me i think lol why is this can any one help thanks nicola

What he's doing when fluffing up is that he's giving a warning sign that he will bite. It's called 'body language. Since you've had your grey for just 2 days, you might wanna consider setting yourself and your bird up. This info might help you-------

1------It is important to be patient, gentle and considerate of your new parrot. He doesn't know you. He is in a strange place with strangers. He will undergo a brief grieving period. He has lost all that was familiar and loved - the other babies he played with and his beloved and trusted caregiver.

2-------He may be cautious. He may be watchful. He will want to learn the lay of the land. He will need to adjust to other birds (if any) and other companion animals you may have. Because of careful early management by your thoughtfully chosen breeder, he will be inclined toward acceptance, but don't assume it. A bird is not a domesticated companion animal and his trust and love must be earned by all who wish to have a satisfactory relationship with him.

3-------The adjustment period should last about three weeks. Be patient. Don't rush him. He doesn't know how loved he is and how anxiously awaited he was. Hold down the excitement. Be calm. Allow him time. Let him explore the cage and become familiar with it. The toys will be new and exciting and he will want to check them out.