NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Adopting/Buying a 2 year old African Grey

I have been looking at the possibility of getting a 2 year old African Grey. The person selling the bird is moving and cannot take the bird with them. The owner is getting back in touch with me tomorrow. What kind of questions should I ask the owner. I am new to Parrot ownership, so not sure what I could/should ask her about. I heard that they bond better when bought when younger. We do have someone home all the time at our house, my husband & I are retired, but we don't go too many places.

Thank you in advance for any help !

I would ask when or if the bird has ever seen a vet. Me, myself would swoop it up without thinking twice...:) I would ask about his diet, favorite foods, nighttime rituals. Words he says & words they use with him. YOU want to keep things as close to what he knows as possible. Does he bite, does he scream, has he been around kids or other pets, etc. Is he used to showers or baths, spraying etc. Is he a shoulder bird?

There are a lot of threads about new parrot ownership & what to expect...they are not quiet birds, they are messy, etc. They will bond with a new family, but it can take time depending on the bird & his transition. Lots to read here.....please read as much as you can & research so you understand the commitment you are making. YOU need to be this birds forever home and except him for who he is & what he brings to your family.

Hello and welcome to the forum. :)

Talon provided great questions to ask.