NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

My 7 months CAG needs help

Stephen

Hi there, I had "Bobby" my 7 months old CAG last month and he was not in good shape, weight only 385g (in the morning before hand feed). He was on "beaphar Xtra Vital Premium food" so i continue with it till now plus morning and evening "ZuPreen baby bird hand feeding formula plus" for approximately 25ml each.

He was happy and playful and his weight increased to 398g, till 3 days ago his weight dropped to 384g and acting stange. He became nervous and eat only half the portion he used to.

Feces is firm and urates is normal, urine seems a bit more then before.

I'm new with CAG, could anyone please refer to the youtube link and share your experiences with me? I'm worrying if there is anything wrong with my baby.

Thanks

Stephen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fg4IdJv5_F8&feature=youtube_gdata_player

At 7 months old, most greys have not been on formula since they were weaned at around 16 to 20 weeks old. Some may like a little formula still, but most will just refuse it after a while. The weight fluctuation you noted is nothing to be concerned about. It is miniscule. You grey is a small framed grey on the lower end of what various greys weigh based on body frame size. He is still very new to your home and acting nervous at times is normal. The most important thing to do with a new grey is go slow and easy to build trust and confidence with him. Anything new in his area can cause fright and nervousness as well. Even some clothes colors or a hat for example can scare them at times.

Welcome by the way. I look forward to hearing more from you. :)

Hi Dan,

Thank you so much for the reply. I feel relief now... Despite of his old age he still like the baby formula very much and makes squawking noise every time I approach him. Details can refer to the YouTube link.