NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG ×
NEW ADDRESS FOR MEMBERS GREYFORUMS.ORG

Oscar's training journal

MoonRock

I thought I would start a training journal for Oscar, the approximately 8 year old CAG I rescued from a bad situation. He seems to be becoming more comfortable with me as the hours pass, which is amazing considering I got him late night on 2/7/13 and it is early morning 2/9/13 as I write.

I will attempt to use a simple format for this journal, to provide for easy reading. I am certainly open to training and bonding suggestions as well, so please do not consider this thread a "closed" one. My primary goal is to teach Oscar to trust and accept me, with a secondary goal of helping others with their own training. I am by no means an expert, and this thread may evolve as I acquire new information about how to help my little grey guy. So let's get started, shall we? :)

The basics: Oscar, male Congo African Grey, approximately 8 years old. He appears to be in perfect feather, with no feather plucking behavior. His wings are unclipped and his talons are slightly overgrown. Oscar appears to be sighted in only his left eye.

Oscar's supposed first owner was a young adult male, who at some point became tired of Oscar and an Amazon purchased at the same time. Oscar and the Amazon were then placed in the care of the young adult's grandmother, who had Oscar for approximately 6 years. The Amazon passed away "prematurely", and it is unknown whether or not Oscar and the Amazon shared a bond. The grandmother seldom handled Oscar, but spoke to him through his cage bars. Oscar shared some kind of bond with this woman, as evidenced by reports from her son and daughter-in-law that Oscar "misses her".